top of page

The Hospital Box-a thoughtful & cute idea for anyone!

I do not know anyone who enjoys hospital visits or long stays at that. And those that have a family member, or children in the hospital enjoy those small little gifts and cards. Just knowing someone is thinking about you is the best feeling you could have. Every hospital has the usual gift shop with pretty much the same things in every one of them. But what if there was a cute and affordable way to show the person that you love that you care about them with putting your own look to it? That is where the hospital box comes in at. :)

The Hospital Box was a great idea that was created by Kari Catuogno and this is why she created it.... "I created The Hospital Box when my mother-in-law was having surgery and I was looking for a special gift that would really mean something. I needed something incredibly thoughtful.. but quick. And easy. Tears came to her eyes (and mine) when she saw her special care package covered in encouraging messages and memories of amazing times together!" I just love DIY gifts, they just have so much meaning to them and fun, you could ask my family and friends and they will tell you that almost any gift they get from me is a DIY gift. I chose to take a shot with trying out this hospital box myself for my son who has surgery coming up. This surgery is an outpatient so he does not have to stay overnight this time. (yay for us!) I thought this was a great care package for his after surgery. Something to distract him from the pain afterward.

Here is what comes in your hospital box care package:

(1) Feel Better Box - This box is a perfect size, not too big or too small, really is just perfect. ( 10in X 10in X 12in)

(21) Decorative Stickers - These stickers are adorable, they are a variety of colors of bandaids along with some hearts. Each sticker is like a pop-up sticker also.

(3) Soft Cotton Bags - These say "Open when you get this", "open when you feel bored." and "open when you need a hug." They all have a drawstring that you can add little notes, pictures or even for kids a little toy in. They are 5in X 8in.

The set up is super quick and easy, the box just takes a few seconds to pop up and insert the tabs on the sides ( a really quick process). Then you can add some cute photos to the outside of your box, you can tape them, glue them or creatively use the stickers that came with the package. After you add your photos you can place meaningful items such as letters, pictures, drawings or what ever you feel in each of the cotton bags. The last thing is to add some comfort items to help your loved one's hospital experience go a little smoother.

In my care package I added some photos of my little guy, myself and his daddy all around the box using the cute stickers. I love the sayings and pictures already on this box, they say care package, smile, laugh and you are loved. The inside of my box has a sock monkey stuffed animal, some coloring books and crayons, some bubbles (who does not love bubbles!?), a train window painting craft along with some wooden transportation vehicles that he can paint during the recovery time at home. I did not fill my cotton bags just yet but this is what I plan to put in this box. Our "open when you get this" will have a cute card, I will most likely make one, this will not surprise anyone. :P The "open when you need a hug" will have photos of him and different family members. I am going to print out some of him and his GiGi, him and his uncle, some of him and his pup and some of mommy and daddy with him. The last bag "Open when you feel bored" I plan on putting a little puzzle in there or maybe a couple little toys. He is so into super heroes right now that I am over it, haha but the bag is big enough to fit some in. This all fits in this box with tissue paper and really more room if I wanted to spoil him even more than he already is. The top fits on perfectly with another picture of the 3 of us and says "Feel Better".

This whole project did not take me long, the shipping was pretty quick and setting up was fun and a little bit of my quiet time. I know that this will put a smile on his face even though he is 4. This could be used to give to anyone of any age whether they are in the hospital or nursing home or even stuck at home sick really. The hospital box would make an awesome mother's day gift for any of those mommy's in the hospital (maybe you know someone who just had a baby!), or grandmothers, or even any in the nursing homes. No matter the age, or who it is for you are sure to get a smile out of them, or like Kari you both may come to happy tears. This is a great idea and I really think every hospital should carry these as a gift choice in their gift shops.

[Photo Credits: The Hospital Box Website.]

The hospital box's website and blog have some great ideas on things to put in these boxes or even links as to some cute things you could purchase online. They have some books in their kid's section about the surgery that I am going to look for at our library closer to the surgery date to stick in there also. You can also sign up for email updates on their website and you can receive free feel better vouchers. This is great to help bring fun and positivity to the healing process. The Hospital Box also supports wonderful work of The Confetti Foundation and will be donating $1 for every Hospital Box purchased to their organization. The Confetti Foundation supplies birthday party kits to children who spend their birthdays in the hospital.

You can check out The Hospital Box at their website and other social media pages below. And if you decide to purchase one these boxes she offered my readers a 20% off discount code. Just use CHINUP20. And the shipping is free!


Meet the ChinUpMom

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Google+ - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
Recent Posts

Thanks for contacting me! I will return your email soon! Have a great day!

bottom of page